My blood…my compass…my love…

…those would be the words of Jeff Buckley when describing how he feels about music. They also seem to describe a certain attitude, a certain emotion that seems to be common to all the music you’re going to read about in here.

Now, thanks to this amazing (and awfully patronizing) person here, I’m supposed to write a post about music that means a lot to me, music that I believe will stay with me for years to come. It was difficult as hell, to be honest, because music has played such a big part in my life, because I’m so passionate about what I listen to and at times it’s impossible to draw the line and say “this, I won’t like, this, I’ll still like”. Anyway, I’m going to give it a try and start with the obvious choice for everyone who knows me:

Nightwish

Delving into what this band means to me and how it has influenced me throughout the years would be useless – it would only turn this into something even cheesier than it will be. I discovered them while going through what was probably the toughest time of my life and they immediately became much, much more than a band. It’s been 5 years since and, while I’ve barely listened to them for the past year, I still sit down at times and play one of their songs and I think yes, this is the band. This is still my favourite band. I remember naively asking a friend, back in the 7th grade, if she thinks I’ll ever get bored of Nightwish, and she just shrugged and said “Nah. It’s your music.” Fair enough, the lyrics are cheesy, the music is commercial, they’re mainstream as fuck, but I’ve yet to find an album that means as much to me as Century Child does, or a song that can surpass Ever Dream in any way.

Anathema

With Anathema, just as with Nightwish, it’s about so much more than the music. This is how I get obsessed with bands, when I feel that there’s more than art for the sake of art. There’s passion, honesty, some sort of philosophy backing the music and that’s why I know I’ll like them a year from now, two years from now… I’ve started liking them without really realizing why, but after the concert everything kind of fell into place: they love music, they live it, they play it…organically. Music is not about quality, or sound, or the number of instruments, or genre, or any type of limitations… see the part from 3:50 in the video above. it speaks better than i can.

My Dying Bride

This refers to that song above rather than the actual band. I’ve known them for years, ever since I got into metal, and my opinion of them changes monthly, from having my ipod filled with their music, to deciding I don’t really want to see them live. But that one song, that I’ve loved from the very beginning. It sends shivers down my spine every single time, it leaves me in awe, both at the lyrics and at the beautiful weaving of the violin and the piano. This is one track that will never leave my ipod.

The Village soundtrack (James Newton Howard)

I’m a fan of soundtracks in general, but I can say it, hands down: this is the best soundtrack ever written. You may say whatever you want about the film, this is some sort of ideal music, this is so expressive and pure and visual; everyone should strive to reach half the perfection of this soundtrack. That’s all I have to say about it.

Frederic Chopin

I (understandably) have a thing for piano music, especially when it goes beyond Bach/Mozart and things like that. From my brief and very flawed musical knowledge,  Chopin is something different; he stands for a different set of values. There’s a change, there’s something dionysian, it’s as if the piano sound breaks loose. I know of no other composer that can shape and control its nuances so beautifully. I love listening to his music, I love playing his music, as challenging as it may be, and although I’m still discovering it, it has the above-mentioned qualities of passion, innovation, authenticity and a dash of drama.

Jeff Buckley

See 4:52. I’ve dedicated an entire post to him already, so I’ll end the list here, no need for repetitions.

5 Comments

Filed under Musiclove, Playing tag

5 responses to “My blood…my compass…my love…

  1. “I can say it, hands down: this is the best soundtrack ever written.”
    Truth. It’s a sound of its own, a story of its own, a melancholic perfect of its own.

    As you know, I’m not a fan of Chopin, but I really like what you wrote about him; it’s very true.

    • ladyruna

      kiitos. : ) thanks for making me post, too.

      • I think it’s a good exercise, it brings some sort of perspective. Not necessarily for what we wrote on the blog post, but for the fact it forced us to think.

      • ladyruna

        I’d write more, but… well, we talked about this before. We should do more tag things, it’s interesting and it makes us think. Whaddaya say? 😀

  2. I say we do it!

    …any ideas?

Leave a Reply

