Day 10

As my blog reader(s) know(s), I haven’t watched many horror films and most of those I’ve seen have disappointed me. So I’ve chosen one that has made me feel scared in a… different way.

This film is about a young woman who helps her friend perform an abortion, back in the 1980s. What she goes through is difficult to describe, both because it’s very well depicted and because it’s horrible to think of. It was tough to watch …but when I read (and realized) though that the meal the woman has after the abortion is a symbolic representation of the foetus, it just… I couldn’t think of anything else for the rest of that day. Although somewhat heavy-paced, it’s a very powerful film. And horrible to watch. I personally couldn’t do that again.

3 Comments

Filed under Challenges

3 responses to “Day 10

  1. The film looks really interesting! 😀

    *adds to list*

    • ladyruna

      Really? I’m not sure what you’ll think of it when you watch it… the subtitles were pretty bad in the video (not in the sense that they’re not, well, correct, but they miss swearwords and sarcastic remarks, which really takes something from the atmosphere of the film). But then again, the Cannes people liked it, so… 🙂

  2. Cannes is never really a good indicator for me; they shun the films I think are brilliant, and glorify those I think are propagandistic rubbish xd

    But this one seems interesting, not so much for the words, but for the way it is shot. The trailer seems Irréversible-ish, but some scenes seem smartly shot.

Leave a Reply

