Day 24

An underrated film

Oh, I’ve been waiting for this one for SO long, because I really wanted to talk about this: I LOVE this film. I love it, love it, love it and I LOVE the book that it’s based on even more. I’ve no idea why so many people have never heard of it, why those who have thinks it’s “pretty good…”, why it obviously didn’t get the right publicity; but as everyone says in these cases, maybe it’s better this way.
This scene that I’m posting is the first one I saw and there was this… something about it. I was instantly hooked; I don’t know if it’s the surreal imagery, the simple, yet ambiguously emotional moments, the quirky characters, or just my Eastern-Europe-y waking up for the first time in my life 😀 I watched it a lot of times since then, and read the book (which I highly recommend, and for which I will certainly save a post, if we ever get around to the Literature Challenge), and it’s just so strange and original and beautiful and funny and poignant and just SO smart.
I don’t know how many of my (4? last time I counted :>) readers will appreciate it, and whether they will find that certain it while watching it, but I certainly, certainly recommend both the film and the book.

Everything Is Illuminated

4 Comments

Filed under Challenges

4 responses to “Day 24

  1. Platypus

    aaah inca un film pe care nu l-am vazut, daaar trebuie trebuie trebuie sa fie foarte boss^^ sammy davis junior junior ❤

  2. der kaiser

    stiu de el, da’ nu l-am vazut 😀 si n-as zice ca e underrated…cunosc destui care l-au vazut si apreciat 🙂

    • ladyruna

      Pfft, “destui” nu e indeajuns. Si trebuie sa’l vezi… si sa citesti cartea… si sa citesti si cealalta carte a tipului… si apoi eventual sa vezi filmul care se face acum dupa ea (desi e cu Sandra Bullock…)

Leave a Reply

