The last day of the sexiest film challenge ever (aka day 31)

So here we are (again), it’s the last day of the challenge, and I must say I’m really, really looking forward to the next one (and i’m hopefully not the only one), which should be the Book Challenge. I also have this evil plan for yet another one, but we’ll see… *creepy chuckle* Gotta say I also enjoyed this challenge much more than the Music one, maybe because I now had three blogs to check, instead of just one, maybe because it’s easier to find similar opinions when it comes to films than when it comes to music, maybe because some posts and some films led to some great talks… whatever the reason, I really liked it.

Day 31 – A film that changed your Life

A film that everyone knows, I guess; in case anyone doesn’t, go watch it. right. now. Most would argue this movie is about books, about reading, writing, acting, teaching etc. but I think it’s more about freedom, uniqueness, open-mindness and being true to yourself, all of which I value a lot. You could say it’s a motivational film, I’d say it’s just the kind of film to watch when you’re feeling insecure or uncertain, because it puts you on (what I consider to be) the right track. And it’s yet another one of those films that I had the luck to watch at the right moment in my life… at least I think so.

Oh, and it has Walt Whitman.
(and young Ethan Hawke. I had initially put him in the same sentence with Whitman, but it felt a bit wrong. :P)

We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for. To quote from Whitman, “O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?” Answer: that you are here; that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?

4 Comments

Filed under Challenges

4 responses to “The last day of the sexiest film challenge ever (aka day 31)

  1. I wouldn’t say it changed my Life, but it is certainly one of the most important films made (not for the art/technique, but for the message).

  2. Tear out the entire introduction. Superb.

Leave a Reply

