Parallels 10 – A world of shadows and ghosts

7thseal

The Seventh Seal, Ingmar Bergman, Sweden, 1957

lotr

Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, Peter Jackson, the USA, 2001

hobbit

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Peter Jackson, the USA, 2012

Antonius Block, The Seventh Seal: I want to confess as best I can, but my heart is void. The void is a mirror. I see my face and feel loathing and horror. My indifference to men has shut me out. I live now in a world of ghosts, a prisoner in my dreams.

Jonas Skat, The Seventh Seal: I’ll find a tree and climb it. So no bears, wolves, or ghosts can get hold of me.

Gandalf, The Fellowship of the Ring: [reading] They have taken the bridge and the second hall. We have barred the gates but cannot hold them for long. The ground shakes, drums… drums in the deep. We cannot get out. A shadow lurks in the dark. We can not get out…

Radagast, The Hobbit: No, Gandalf, ’tis not. A dark power dwells in there. Such as I have never felt before. It is the shadow of an ancient horror. One that can summon the spirits of the dead. I saw him, Gandalf, from out of the darkness.

6 Comments

Filed under Filmlove, Parallels, Pseudointellectual

6 responses to “Parallels 10 – A world of shadows and ghosts

  1. Curious parallel. But a bit too shallowly applied in LotR, no?

    • ladyruna

      Shallowly? In what way?

      • Because in DSI it was an allegory for the danse macabre, and fit the vaguely absurd/satirical contours of the film. It was the inevitable ending to the entire narrative, which led the main characters into death.

        I can see how it would be used in LotR (kinship in Death, etc.), but I think the purpose of the film was to see them overcome Death, not be united in — or by — it. ‘Cept maybe Boromir giggle2

  2. ladyruna

    Well, that sounds like a perfectly valid and un-shallow interpretation to me; alluding to something but changing its meaning a bit… why not?

Leave a Reply

